Lord, All that I Would Ask

Lord,
All that I would ask
Is that when dusk falls on my task,
When all my tears are in your jar,
The land is trod, both near and far,
When those few scattered seeds have grown
Among the world, among my own,
Is that I still be found in you.

For peals of thunder, lightning, rain,
Fire, ice, and searing pain,
These are the days of man

And as I stand scarce past the start
I am already losing heart
Though I have just begun.

And if the race with man has drained
Me of my strength what can remain
When fleeter foes arrive?

Lord,
All that I would want
Is that when felled amidst the hunt,
When friend and foe alike have done
Their all to prove I’m not a son,
When wounded, battered, and struck down,
And trembling ‘neath a thorny crown,
Is that I still be found in you.

Written in response to John Piper’s message at the 2012 T4G Conference. To hear his message, click here

Leave a Reply

