Guilt to Innocence Restored

A couple of weeks ago this blog turned five years old. It began the afternoon of October 1st, 2006 as I sat on our tired war-horse of a couch in Oak Manor, Dorm #5. Blogging was in full swing, and twitter was a word used to describe the kinds of conversations that junior high girls had over lunch. My world consisted of attending class, driving the Oak Manor shuttle bus, and getting involved in something called the Student Life Department. I wanted to be a lawyer, classes like Constitutional Law stoking my desire to work for IJM in rescuing the oppressed from the sex-trafficking industry, slavery, and other forms of illegal intimidation around the world.

I now am sitting on another couch, this one a rather new espresso colored faux leather model. This room is Carver 416, nicknamed “The Slaughterhouse” by the RAs, as students who enter might never return so the joke goes. I now am the junior member of the senior staff for a different Student Life department, but surrounded by old friends and new friends who share the same passion and direction. My world still revolves around taking classes, not for law but for vocational ministry, the one occupation I said I would never pursue.

I can see by comparing my own freshly published posts to those posted five years ago a radical transformation of who I am. The Lord has taken passion and directed it, taken outspokenness and polished it. By grace, he will continue to do so. In the last five years I’ve gained a life direction, and have been amazed at the paths the Lord has brought me on to get me here.

One thing I’ve never done on this blog is explain the name. Indeed, finding a good name for this blog proved to be much harder than I thought it would be. Like a tattoo, you’d better be good and sure that the name will reflect who you are in five years, ten years, twenty years, as it does when you first apply it. “Innocence Restored” is half of a line from Keith and Krysten Getty’s song, Every Promise Of Your Word. They write,

When I stumble and I sin, condemnation pressing in, 
I will stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word. 
You are faithful to forgive that in freedom I might live, 
So I stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word. 
Guilt to innocence restored, 
You remember sins no more— 
So I’ll stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word. 

I do not know how long I’ll write here at this site. I have no intention of giving it up anytime soon, though the frequency always seems to ebb and flow as the Lord brings different ministries and responsibilities into my life. But one thing I know will be as true of me when I am old and grey as when I first began writing at this site. I have gone from guilt to innocence. And this is a statement that makes absolutely no sense. The guilty cannot become innocent yet again, for innocent is not a quality that can be measured by overwhelming generalities like being generous or truthful. A man may be truthful and have lied in the past. But no one could ever be innocent having been guilty in the past.

Except for the appearing of Jesus Christ, God become man to purchase back sinners to himself. It is no longer I who live, but Christ in me.

Leave a Reply

