There’s No Crying in Hebrew

Perhaps sensing that morale was low within our Hebrew Syntax class, Dr. Betts rallied the troops by sharing this story with us on Thursday:

“I was beckoned out of the classroom during drills one day and this guy was crying and shaking uncontrollably. I figured something really terrible must have happened. After he composed himself I asked him what was wrong and he said, ‘H-H-Hebrew.’ I got mad at him. I had backed over my son with my car and nearly killed him earlier in the semester. That’s a trial. Hebrew is a privilege that men around the world would give everything to study, and you’re crying about it?”

One response to “There’s No Crying in Hebrew”

  1. Gunner says :

    Great illustration of why we should be careful of comparing our trials with others. If we want to play the comparison game, then we should never be sad about anything, because someone, somewhere is sadder.

Leave a Reply

