Sometimes

Yahweh save!
From Adam’s sin
that dwells within
my soul.
The whole
of all my righteousness
is naught.

Yahweh save!
From deeds I’ve done
against Your Son
and You.
For true
the accusations are
of Guilt.

Yahweh save!
From thoughts that damn
this wretched man
to wrath.
The paths
I’ve walked within my mind
condemn.

And Yahweh saved!
What once was dark
Now bears the mark
of Light.
And might
to quench the power of sin
abides.

Oh, Yahweh save!
From misplaced zeal
that does not heal,
but harm.
The swarm
of joy did overgrow
my love.

Oh, Yahweh save!
From dull return
to fires that burn
within.
For sin
Though crushed still fights to rule
again.

Oh, Yahweh save!
From darkened days
and shadowed rays
of light.
The fright
of heav’nly silence chills
my faith.

Oh, Yahweh save!
From intellect
that left unchecked
would swell
that fell
and ne’er complacent beast,
my pride.

Oh, Yahweh save!
For You know well
how I would sell
my all
(sometimes)
for You.

One response to “Sometimes”

  1. Not For Itching Ears says :

    Thank you for sharing this!
    Jim

Leave a Reply

