Testimony for TMS

One of the necessary steps in applying for The Master’s Seminary is to write out a brief testimony of conversion. Here’s what Christ has done in my life to draw me to Himself:

Somewhere in my Mom’s journals that line our family bookshelves, there’s a happy page describing how her oldest son repented of his sin and asked Jesus Christ to be his Savior. Though the journal can recount the specific day my relationship with my Savior began, I cannot. And this fact troubled me throughout my childhood. Could a conversion at the age of three be real if I could not remember praying the sinner’s prayer? By the time I was old enough to phrase this question, I could see within my heart a love for Christ. I hated sin and wanted to live in such a way to please the Lord. But I was scared to death that the Father wouldn’t count me among His children because I couldn’t remember the day I was adopted into His family.

I can remember the moment when all of these fears were finally put to rest. My family had invited over for dinner a couple from the church where my Dad was a pastor. During the dinner conversation, the wife began to share her fears of not being among the redeemed because of what she prayed : “Lord, I’ve tried everything else. I’ll try you.”

My Dad had no idea that the answer he gave would have a tremendous impact upon his thirteen year old son sitting at the table: “Kathy, do you love the Lord Jesus Christ with all of your heart, soul, mind and strength now? And has your life exhibited the characteristics of one who loves Christ?” “Yes, Pastor Jim.” “That’s the mark of a believer. It’s not the prayer that saves you. It is Christ that saves you.”

That moment I came to truly understand what it meant for salvation to be by grace and faith, not by works. My heart was consumed with love for Christ and what He had done for me upon the Cross. My life demonstrated walking in obedience, which is the proof of that love for God (1 John 5:3).

I believe that I was truly drawn to Christ at the age of three. For as long as I can remember, I have understood that Christ was my Lord and that my life was about loving and obeying Him. I’m thankful for my parents who raised me in a gospel-centered home, who prayed countless prayers that I would come to understand my desperate need for a Savior and then see Christ as the all-sufficient Answer.

I do not have a dramatic testimony where there was an outwardly observable transformation from dark to light. But I was once lost and now I’m found. Christ Jesus is my greatest joy and treasure in life, and I look forward to discovering more of who He is and how I might live to bring attention and honor to His person and His work.

2 responses to “Testimony for TMS”

  1. Andrew says :

    Thanks, Nate. I love the quote, “It’s not the prayer that saves you. It is Christ that saves you.” That is so true, yet it is easy for people to forget, especially young people. Praise the Lord for the salvation that He has given us apart from anything we could do, even apart from us “praying a prayer.”

  2. Nathan Tuggy says :

    Yes, this encourages me too; I’ve often wondered similar things.

    And the quote really sums it all up.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

