Songs to Torture Me By

While browsing the news on cnn.com a couple days ago, I came across this article about how detainees at Gitmo were forced to listen to music at loud volumes in an attempt to get them to talk. So I began wondering what my torture playlist would be. Here’s what would make me tell all faster than a mockingbird:

1. The Meow-Mix Jingle (Perhaps the most loathsome jingle created in the history of mankind. Worse, the entire thing is meowed by a cat, which means that it transcends any language barrier. I’m in the middle of watching season 5 of 24, and I’m just waiting for the time when Jack Bauer yells “We don’t have time to break him through interrogation! Bring out the Meow-Mix Jingle.” Because it would work.)

2. Sandstorm by Darude (I’ve had some experience with this, as about a 15 second clip from it is looped in the line for Scream at Six Flags.)

3. I’m Blue by Eiffel 65 (The world motto my eighth grade year was  “If it ain’t Eiffel 65, it ain’t music.)

4. All These Things That I Have Done by The Killers (Thanks Andrew M.)

5. Paper Planes by MIA (Made popular by Slumdog Millionaire, the cash register and gunshots are a little bit over the top.)

6. Dueling Banjos (Hey…let’s play the same six notes over and over and over again for 4 minutes and call it a song!)

7. Lost in the 50s Tonight by Ronnie Milsap (Had to sing this as a solo in choir one year. Unfortunately I still remember the song 6 years later.)

8. The entire Nu Thang album by dc Talk.

9. All Creatures of Our God and King by St. Francis of Assisi (I feel bad for including a hymn with some great truth in it, but I really cannot see why this song has survived for 4 centuries.)

10. Honkey Tonk USA (I don’t know the artist, but the genre was country. This is what they play at gas stations in western Nebraska. That should tell you enough.)

Leave a Reply

