Road Trip Thoughts

I’m currently smack in the middle of my second cross-country road trip in the last three months. The Lord has blessed me with a job as a pastoral intern at a church in California. (Hopefully I’ll be able to write more about it in the weeks to come.) The last three days have been spent driving through Nebraska, Colorado, and southern Utah. I’ve taken time to visit a couple friends along the way who have been kind enough to open their homes up to me. Three days with Blaise Selby and Andrew Meredith as hosts is about as good as it gets.

I’ve passed the time with audio books of Crazy Love by Francis Chan, The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane, and Rick Holland’s 13-part sermon series titled A Roadmap for Righteous Relationships. The trip has yielded good time for thinking and some personal firsts. In no particular order:

1. Andrew’s dad, Steve, woke me up yesterday morning to show me a brown bear rummaging through garbage about 30 feet from the Meredith’s house. The only bears I’ve ever seen have been behind bars in the zoo. For a city boy from California, wildlife other than rabbits and bubonic plague carrying squirrels is a foreign concept.

2. Bear-proof trash containers are practically human-proof as well. It’s harder to throw away a plastic water bottle in Lake City, CO than it is to swipe the President from Fort Knox after a terrorist strike.

3. I set a new personal record for highest elevation:12,805 feet. (Engineer Summit, CO) Incidentally, I also set a new personal record for highest elevation while eating a can of tuna: 12,805 feet at Engineer Summit, CO.

4. My car got an astounding 49.5 miles to the gallon from Colorado Springs to Gunnison. 173 miles, 3.5 gallons of gas. And that’s with everything I own except my office chair and cap and gown in the back seat and trunk. I’d be disinclined to believe that gas mileage, but I filled up my tank before leaving Colorado Springs. Not believing that I only used 3.5 gallons, I tried to continue pumping gas after the automatic shut off kicked in, but it shut off two more times before I gave up.

5. The most moral (Utah) and the most amoral (Nevada) states sit right next to each other on the map. One state touts its emphasis on family and conservative values, the other its reputation as the home of “Sin City.” Like the men of Sodom and the self-righteous Pharisees, both will be found equally lacking before the judgment seat of God.

6. Good Christian biography focuses on who the man or woman is rather than on what they did. Spiritually edifying biographies essentially have God as the main character, not the missionary or pastor.

7.The earth just looks like it had a monster flood at some point.

2 responses to “Road Trip Thoughts”

  1. Gunner says :

    I look forward to hearing about your new responsibilities, and appreciate the observation about Utah and Nevada. Regardless of whether they’re actually the superlative states in these two areas, it’s a good insight and reminder.

  2. Charlene Ann Baumbich says :

    “I also set a new personal record for highest elevation while eating a can of tuna: 12,805 feet at Engineer Summit, CO.” I laughed out loud when I read that. THANKS! That is indeed some record.

Leave a Reply

