Though I…

Though I was conceived in sin, (Psalm 51:5)

            I’m called to be holy, for He is holy. (1 Peter 1:16)

 

Though I own more than most will make in their lifetime,

            I’m called to count my money as nothing. (Matthew 19:21)

 

Though I cannot see eternal life, (Hebrews 11:1)

            I’m called to take up my cross and follow Him. (Matthew 16:24)

 

Though I have never seen the lion’s mouths closed, (Daniel 7:21)

            I’m called preach in season and out. (2 Timothy 4:2)

 

Though I do not face intense persecution,

            I’m called to suffer for His name’s sake. (Matthew 16:24)

 

Though I am surrounded by siren calls,

            I’m called to walk the straight and narrow. (Matthew 7:13)

 

Though I have enough burdens of my own,

            I’m called to bear my brothers’ as well. (Galatians 6:2)

 

Though I am young,

            I’m called to be so steeped in the Word no one can disregard me. (1 Tim 4:12)

 

Though I am shamed by my sin, (James 4:9)

            I’m called to be ever joyful. (Philippians 4:4)

 

Though I have a tongue that is the very world of iniquity, (James 3:9)

            I’m called to speak words only fitting to the needs of the moment.

 

Though I am filthy as the Prodigal Son, (Matt 15:15-16)

            I’m called to be unstained by the world. (James 1:27)

 

Though I am polluted in actions and motives, (James 4:1-5)

            I’m called to ask in faith and it will be done. (James 1:6)

 

Though I know not the Scriptures as I ought,

            I’m called to always be ready to give a defense for my hope. (1 Pet 3:15)

 

Though I recoil at pain,

            I’m called to walk through fiery trials. (1 Peter 4:12)

 

Though I am selfish and ambitious,

            I’m called to rejoice with the rejoicing and weep with the weeping. (1 Cor 7:30)

 

Though I preach a foolish message,

            I’m called to not be ashamed of it. (Romans 1:16)

 

Though I am prideful,

            I’m called to be humble. (James 4:10)

 

 

Though I try to serve God,            

I’m called to realize that who I have become is by grace and grace alone. (Titus 2:11)

 

Though I’m not worthy, (Romans 3:11)

 

 

            I’m called a son of God. (Galatians 4:7)

  

2 responses to “Though I…”

  1. Aaron Wakling says :

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Aaron Wakling

  2. Jess says :

    Thanks Nate…This is especially appropriate this weekend.

Leave a Reply

