RA Questions

This weekend all the Resident Assistants for next year head off together for a mini-reatreat and preliminary training. The process to become an RA is rather intense, capped by an interview conducted by the Dorm Staff. Being an RA is a large responsibility, and the school wants to make sure they are qualified. They are responsible for overseeing a wing of a dorm and working with the Resident Director. Here is the “master list” of questions for the RA interview. Take some time to answer them yourself!

  1. Are you hard to lead?
      
  2. What are some things that you know well but you’re not putting into practice?
     
  3. Tell me why I should follow Christ.
     
  4. How do you fight against apathy when you’re consistently in a Christian environment?
     
  5. Are there any fractured relationships in your life right now?
     
  6. What makes you laugh?
     
  7. How do the people around you know that you love them?
       
  8. How do you think the Lord has humbled you the most over the past year?
     
  9. How would you minister to people who are spiritually comfortable and who don’t care about things of the Lord?
     
  10. What have you risked for Christ?

    11.   What is the one question coming into this interview you did not want us to ask you? Answer it.

2 responses to “RA Questions”

  1. chelsey says :

    I’m not applying for RA, so I’m not going to sweat too much over this…just off the top of my head:

    1. Are you hard to lead?

    Not if my leaders lead by persuasion, long-suffering, gentleness, meekness, love unfeigned, kindness, and pure knowledge, or are at least trying their best to lead by these principles.

    2. What are some things that you know well but you’re not putting into practice?

    I know how to eat better and exercise better than I am currently doing.

    3. Tell me why I should follow Christ

    You should follow Christ because “there shall be no other name given nor any other way nor means whereby salvation can come unto the children of men, only in and through the name of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent.”

    And because happiness IN THIS LIFE and the next is achieved by following the teachings of Jesus Christ.

    4. How do you fight against apathy when you’re consistently in a Christian environment?

    Apathy can strike in any environment. Daily scripture study, prayer, regular attendance at meetings, frequently attending the temple, and keeping covenants you’ve made, will ensure that you will have the Holy Spirit with you. ” And the Holy Ghost will tell you all things what you should do.”

    (“…that they may eat in remembrance of the body of thy Son, and witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they are willing to take upon them the name of thy Son, and always remember him, and keep his commandments which he hath given them, that they may always have his Spirit to be with them.”)

    5. Are there any fractured relationships in your life right now?

    No.

    6. What makes you laugh?

    My husband and my babies.

    7. How do the people around you know that you love them?

    I spend time with them, do things for them, and tell them I love them.

    8. How do you think the Lord has humbled you the most over the past year?

    This isn’t the biggest trial in the world, but potty training my oldest has definitely driven me to my knees the most frequently in the past year.

    9. How would you minister to people who are spiritually comfortable and who don’t care about things of the Lord?

    The best way to influence those around you is to develop your own relationship with Christ. Example is very powerful. You’ll also be ready when they have questions, plus the influence of a good life is felt by all you come in contact with (whether they know it or not).

    10. What have you risked for Christ?

    I’m not exactly sure what kind of answer is expected here because we don’t talk this way, but some of the hardest things I’ve ever had to are when the Spirit has told me to do something that I haven’t wanted to do (because of pride, fear, etc.). I’ve always followed the promptings anyway because I have known that’s what God wanted me to do, and I’ve certainly been blessed for it!

    11. What is the one question coming into this interview you did not want us to ask you? Anwer it.

    I actually like being asked hard questions (but so few people have the guts to do so!) But, I really would hate to be asked something obscene, and I’m not going to write anything obscene here or any where. So just imagine that I gave the right answer.

  2. Anonymous says :

    Stumbled on this post during a google search for “RA Interview Questions”.

    Looks like a good list – just remember, we in the industry prefer to say “Residence Halls” since you only sleep in a dorm, but you live in a residence hall 🙂

Leave a Reply

