Blogging

When people find out I have a blog, they often ask, “Why do you blog?” It is an important question. The blogging phenomenon is quite amazing. Never before in human history has it been so easy for people to publish their own opinions. This can be a good thing, but it also creates a cacophony of voices clamoring for attention. I don’t presume to ever have anything original or creative to say, but here are the reasons I blog. Some are spiritual, some aren’t, but here they are:

1. Blogging reminds me of my dependence on the Savior. I constantly am writing about the Gospel, Christ’s death on the cross, the intersection of culture and Christianity, and my response to it all. Trying to put it all into words reminds me of the dependence upon God I have for clarity of thought and understanding.

2. Writing forces me to think through many things I otherwise would brush off and not think about. If I am to offer an opinion on a given topic, I am going to have to be able to defend it because people will disagree and tell me so! This forces me to return to the Word again and again to make sure my grounding is correct.

3. By blogging I practice putting spiritual things into words. Clear expression is an art which must be practiced, and I have a responsibility to develop my ability to communicate the Gospel.

4. It is fun! I enjoy writing as a hobby, and blogging allows me to share what I write with others, should they desire to read.

5. Ultimately, I blog for the glory of God. What I write is a celebration of what the Lord is teaching me. Perhaps someone else might be encouraged by what I have been learning, and so I will share it joyfully.

Leave a Reply

